Multiplayer games

Post Reply
Herakules
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 16:40 pm

Multiplayer games

Post by Herakules »

Can anyone give me a instruction how i can play in the pw multiplayer modus? :( i tried it much times but i dont know how i shall start a MP game with my friend...please help me :) :( (we both have tunngle)

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Scrat »

1. you have to select Host Game via TCP/IP. host a game and give your friend the IP and the port (both can be seen below the map description once the game is hosted).
2. your friend has to select Join Game via TCP/IP and enter the IP and port you gave him

no need for any additional software. have fun playing

Herakules
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 16:40 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Herakules »

Okay thanks :D and is there are another way if we are both in one wlan or is it the same?

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Scrat »

use TCP IP, that's the safest bet

Herakules
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 16:40 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Herakules »

okay and sry for my questions :/ but does it also work with two same versions and CD-Keys of paraworld or not? because we just tried it and it didn`t worked ...

User avatar
MrMorgana
- Admin -
Posts: 939
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:42 pm
Location: Koprulu Sector

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by MrMorgana »

you need different serial keys

User avatar
Zidell
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 13:53 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Zidell »

MrMorgana wrote:you need different serial keys
No, I'm with my friend tested with the same CDKey,CDKeyHash and HostID,all worked fine
Image

User avatar
MrMorgana
- Admin -
Posts: 939
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:42 pm
Location: Koprulu Sector

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by MrMorgana »

really???

User avatar
Zidell
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 13:53 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Zidell »

MrMorgana wrote:really???
Yes
Image

Herakules
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 16:40 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Herakules »

DryFun wrote:
MrMorgana wrote:you need different serial keys
No, I'm with my friend tested with the same CDKey,CDKeyHash and HostID,all worked fine
But we tried it with the same key and we couldn't see us online or rather every time we tried it i couldn't connect to him, because i always lost the connection at 20/20 in TCP/IP ....

User avatar
MrMorgana
- Admin -
Posts: 939
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:42 pm
Location: Koprulu Sector

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by MrMorgana »

well, joining should work with same key, only starting the game makes it complicated. we have experiencd many times, that if 2 players had the same key, the second person was not in the game, once it has been started, he stayed in lobby (but seems like the russians found a way to circumvent it)
anyways, if you are in the same network, you should use LAN option, and whoever hosts, need to know the local ip address of his pc, and the other should join to that ip
if you are not in the same local network, the host needs to open his port(s), like 1905 (router port forwarding), then he must know what is his external ip (can be easily checked, just google "what is my ip") and the other player should join to that ip and port
some applications, like hamachi makes this second method unusable though, so you better get rid of them

Herakules
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 16:40 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Herakules »

So the tcp/ip method is not neccessary? And does it also works if we are in the same wlan network or did you mean that?

Zemuun98
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 23:04 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Zemuun98 »

Does anyone could tell me how to play this game with friends.
I tried the program such as Hamachi,Tunngle,GameRanger and does not show room.
Please help :)

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Scrat »

use TCP/IP, you don't need Hamachi or other programs

User avatar
ParaworldFan
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:36 pm
Location: Russia, Surgut

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by ParaworldFan »

Didn’t found other topic so I ll ask here?
How to load saved multiplayer games? Is it possible?
If, yes than better create a FAQ of this

User avatar
AnthonyCole
- Admin -
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 13:17 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by AnthonyCole »

To my knowledge it's not possible (at least to load in MP). You may be able to load them in SP by transferring the file from the savegame folder? But then I guess the AI doesn't take over the missing human players.

User avatar
Zidell
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 13:53 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Zidell »

Open a new lobby using a save file as a map
Players should use the same hqs as in the save file
Image

User avatar
ParaworldFan
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:36 pm
Location: Russia, Surgut

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by ParaworldFan »

It’s pretty a small detailed instruction. I already have question, how to open lobby using saved map?

User avatar
AnthonyCole
- Admin -
Posts: 2104
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 13:17 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by AnthonyCole »

Can you just rename .sav files to .ula files? Is it really the same file format? :O

User avatar
ParaworldFan
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:36 pm
Location: Russia, Surgut

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by ParaworldFan »

I don’t understand you guys. .ula files are actually map files, while save files, well other kind of files? I don’t see connection between those two

User avatar
Zidell
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 13:53 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Zidell »

:D wrote:
Fri Nov 06, 2020 8:28 am

Can you just rename .sav files to .ula files? Is it really the same file format? :O


There is no .sav in pw, they are already in .ula
Image

User avatar
Zidell
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 13:53 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Zidell »

So we are all just playing in one big sdk and pw sdk is just sdk for this sdk
Image

User avatar
ParaworldFan
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 19:36 pm
Location: Russia, Surgut

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by ParaworldFan »

Zidell wrote:
Fri Nov 06, 2020 15:45 pm
:D wrote:
Fri Nov 06, 2020 8:28 am

Can you just rename .sav files to .ula files? Is it really the same file format? :O


There is no .sav in pw, they are already in .ula
Why yours quote is rainbow?

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Scrat »

does that mean we can load a savegame in leveleditor, change it, save it, start the game, load the save, and have a modified savegame with, say, 20 extra brachios to assist you?
Zidell wrote:
Fri Nov 06, 2020 15:55 pm
So we are all just playing in one big sdk and pw sdk is just sdk for this sdk
also i hope this makes it into the next Mirage's quotes :D

User avatar
Zidell
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 13:53 pm

Re: Multiplayer games

Post by Zidell »

Yes,with some minor visual bugs
Image

Post Reply

Return to “English”