Problems with those packs? Post here

Post Reply
relagon
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 17:54 pm

Problems with those packs? Post here

Post by relagon »

Hi Guys, I'm new and I hope you can help me. I've downloaded the booster pack. the uk version when I'm installing the language pack I get these two errors.
When installing the language pack, I received an error message -
"! C:
Boosterpack_UK_Language_PackV1[1].3.rar:CRC failed in Paraworld\Data\Boosterpack1\Locale\UK\VIDEO\hb_4023a.bik.File is corrupt"


Boosterpack_UK_Language_PackV1[1].3.rar:CRC failed in Paraworld\Data\Boosterpack1\Locale\UK\VIDEO\hb_4229.bik.File is corrupt"

Can you help with this please as the game won't work now. Thanks :?

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Scrat »

Maybe it could help if you replace the two damaged files with these two:

hb_23a.bik

hb_4229.bik

relagon
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 17:54 pm

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by relagon »

Thanks Scrat.
Unfortunately it didn't work. When I start the game and select a level it
pauses for a minute or so and then minimises to the toolbar and an error
report appears saying PWServer.exe has encountered a problem.
When I maximise the game it just says program is not Responding.
Can you help please? :?

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Scrat »

Maybe it might help if you replace PWServer.exe, too. From the boosterpack folder, manually.

Do you have Vista?

User avatar
Triceratops
- Mod -
Posts: 4906
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 16:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Triceratops »

No wait...

First of all, sorry for the problems with those 2 files.

Those 2 files are videos for the campaign. Does the game crash on startup or actually if you start a mission?

Which windows do you use? Did you add the '-enable boosterpack1' parameter to your shotcut?

Where did you put the files from Scrat?

Point is you dont need them. Check the paraworld/data/locale/us/video folder and move the 2 files from there to the

paraworld/data/locale/uk/video folder

relagon
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 17:54 pm

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by relagon »

Hi Guys,

I am using Windows XP Pro.

The game crashes when I start a campaign.
No I didn't '-enable boosterpack1', I copied it from the bin folder, it wouldn't
let me do the '-enable boosterpack1'! maybe I'm doing it wrong can you tell me how to do it again!.

I put the files from Scrat into paraworld/data/locale/uk/video
Should I have taken them from the paraworld/data/locale/us/video folder?

Thanks for the patience and the help Guys. :)

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Scrat »

Wait... you downloaded the UK Language Pack and you have the game folder called US? That could be the problem. Just rename it to uk, I had the same problem.

And you have to put -enable boosterpack1 to the desktop shortcut. The first editable line from above should be like that:
C:\Program Files\Sunflowers\Paraworld\bin\Paraworld.exe -enable boosterpack1
Or if this doesnt work try to make it
"C:\Load\Sunflowers\Paraworld\bin\Paraworld.exe" -enable boosterpack1
this.

relagon
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 17:54 pm

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by relagon »

No Still the same problem.

Except now it tells me the game is already started when its not???????????

Should I reinstall the whole game and start from fresh?

Thanks

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Scrat »

Maybe it is because you started PW after Standby. PW doesn't like that. Restarting before playing is better. ;)

User avatar
Triceratops
- Mod -
Posts: 4906
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 16:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Triceratops »

Relagon, a fresh installation would be the best. It's good to know that the game crashes before starting a mission.

Scrat will help you with a step by step installation of the BP. Just to add to this:

The two damaged files from the language pack are in the 'core files'-pack as well. Why that? Because the core files are actually the US alpha version of our translation which we then updated with the language packs. Make sure Winrar does not stop after detecting the two damaged files. Best you delete them from the archive.


Do you use any additional software firewalls? Make sure that:

paraworld.exe
pwserver.exe
pwclient.exe

are not blocked by it. All 3 are needed

relagon
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 17:54 pm

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by relagon »

Thanks,

I'm doing an uninstall at the moment,
I'll wait for scrat for advice on installing the Boosterpack.

User avatar
Triceratops
- Mod -
Posts: 4906
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 16:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Triceratops »

Scrat, seems to need more time.

Here is the guide.

- Turn off your virusscanner and firewall for installation of the game. If possible use the standard folder.

- Turn on vscanner and fw.

- Start the game and try the campaign for a first test. If you now get problems it's because of the firewall. So give the files I mentioned in my last post free access to offline and online mode. If it works end the game.


Boosterpack:


- Now extract the first core file so that it overwrites your Paraworld folder. Check the folder structure in the archive. All 3 files are now extracted automaticly.


- Do the same with the language pack



Now the last step. Paraworld needs to be started with an additional parameter.

-enable boosterpack1


Open the properties of the Paraworld shorcut on your desktop. Use right-click -> properties (you probably know that but just to make sure).

Search line: ....paraworld.exe

and add -enable boosterpack1


Save it and start the game.

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Scrat »

Sorry, I had some arrangements to care about.

If you want to install the Mapeditor, do it before the boosterpack. After having installed PW and having tested it you can install the Mapeditor. Launch the Mapeditor and do some functions, they will be non-available. For example the button p opening the properties window. Shut down the Mapeditor, if you start it again, everything will be fine.

After you have installed the boosterpack, put the same parameter -enable boosterpack1 after -leveled in the Mapeditor's desktop icon. Then the Mapeditor will be boosterpack-ready. :)

User avatar
Triceratops
- Mod -
Posts: 4906
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 16:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Triceratops »

yes, the editor would be an additon. But you can install it later anyway (you would need to install the Booster again).

Take your time and tell us when finished

User avatar
Adder
- Honorable Old Guard -
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 18:16 pm
Location: München
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Adder »

The root cause of the error is that instead of unpacking all 3 files in one go, which should be triggered by unpacking the first file with rar, you tried to unpack the single file no. 3. Because rar when creating multi-file archives does split the data for some files between the last and the following archive, rar needs data from both rar files to create the file.

I avoided this same problem by unpacking the data first with two different archivers, then checking the output, then copying the files over the install of paraworld.

To summarize you need to unpack the three files in one go by pointing the archiver to the first file.
Image

relagon
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 17:54 pm

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by relagon »

Hi Guys,

I've got the boosterpack working. :P

Thanks a Mil for all the help.

Done a complete reinstallation and then
Installed the boosterpack very carefully and got the original errors at the
start with the .bik files but replaced them and renamed the US folder and
replaced the "C:\Load\Sunflowers\Paraworld\bin\Paraworld.exe" -
enableboosterpack1 and it worked.

I have another issue now I can't get the cheats to work.
When I open the settings file I don't have HarassingCountDown = '1'
Can you help me with this?

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Scrat »

You have to play a little to get the HarassingCountDown = '1' to existance. Play some while, end the game, then look it up again ;)

relagon
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 17:54 pm

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by relagon »

Thanks Scrat.

Much appriciated

Cheers :P

neuSEAS
- Multi-Tribe -
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 6:50 am
Location: ZU HAUSE^^

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by neuSEAS »

and here the same procedur like Translated Boosterpacks - Version 1.3? :wink:
WAS GUCKST DU, BIN ISCH KINO?
"Das Licht am Ende des Tunnels ist oft nur eine sterbende Leuchtqualle"
Aus Wlater Moers´ "Die Stadt der Träumenden Bücher"

Wargom
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:33 am

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Wargom »

And there everybody! :D

I love this game but had stopped playing but looking on the Internet I found this site to my luck, and more all tips to install the booster pack.

I will start asking for help.
I did step by step.
but now that he does not recognize my password.
Do not leave the password screen.
I do not know how to "enable the boosterpack1 ' :?:

can help me. :cry:

thanks :mrgreen:

User avatar
Triceratops
- Mod -
Posts: 4906
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 16:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Triceratops »

Hi Wargom,

welcome to the forum :wink:

Not sure yet what you meant with password? The Paraworld game key?


And which Windows do you use? Will help you with this of course.

Wargom
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:33 am

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Wargom »

thanks Triceratops

Is yes.
The key game.
Not recognizing. :cry:

I use Windows XP.

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14181
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Scrat »

Are you sure you really put it in the correct way?

And for enable boosterpack1, right-click the Paraworld desktop icon and click at the 'aim' line. There you enter -enable boosterpack1 after the last letter, with a blank space in between.

Wargom
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:33 am

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Wargom »

hi Scrat

I put the correct password

but does not accept my password

"-enable Boosterpack1" I get it and I have done but did not work

occurred the same

does not accept my password. :(

User avatar
Triceratops
- Mod -
Posts: 4906
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 16:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Boosterpack error

Post by Triceratops »

Wait...

You must check the letters 'U' and 'V' thorougly as they look quite similiar with the font used on the book.

Something I do not understand: You have installed the boosterpack and then you were asked to re-enter you game key?

I've never heard of this before :)



Oh and it would be helpful to know if you use the US or UK version of the game

Post Reply

Return to “(Download) Boosterpacks”