Annoying AI bug.

Post Reply
User avatar
wafflefries777
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 23:50 pm
Location: USA

Annoying AI bug.

Post by wafflefries777 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:51 am

A lot of my skirmish matches have dud AIs. Dud as in they dont move at all or start. They just stand at their base. They only thing they react to is if you attack them. Is there a way to fix this? Its not fun if theres multiple allies or enemies that dont even start their base. Thanks for any help.
Image

User avatar
AnthonyCole
- Admin -
Posts: 1997
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 14:17 pm

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by AnthonyCole » Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:59 am

This may happen when the AI has too little space. Or some other bug in the AI files. It's difficult to fix since it requires a lot of testing, which is complicated because this does not always happen.

User avatar
wafflefries777
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 23:50 pm
Location: USA

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by wafflefries777 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 4:03 am

Oh. that sucks :/
Image

User avatar
Tyranno
- Multi-Tribe -
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 18:35 pm
Location: Hamburg

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by Tyranno » Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:15 am

this bug i have mpstly with the Dustriders and thats very boring when this happened. :?
Image
Tyranno Destroy's any Resistance !!!
Tyranno Der Thread Necromancer

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14059
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Location: Seldwyla
Contact:

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by Scrat » Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:37 am

Are you sure you didn't put the AI setting to passive or random?

User avatar
Triceratops
- Admin -
Posts: 4899
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by Triceratops » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:06 am

Like Scrat said, and I want to add please make a note of the map, ai setting and the chosen tribes (all players and ais) and post it here

User avatar
Tyranno
- Multi-Tribe -
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 18:35 pm
Location: Hamburg

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by Tyranno » Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:18 am

Valley of Death the Dustriders
Image
Tyranno Destroy's any Resistance !!!
Tyranno Der Thread Necromancer

User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14059
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Location: Seldwyla
Contact:

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by Scrat » Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:00 am

The map is fine, I played it several times without impairments. :?

User avatar
Tyranno
- Multi-Tribe -
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 18:35 pm
Location: Hamburg

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by Tyranno » Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:45 am

I Love this map but when my teammates are the Dustriders they Stand there and do nothing
Image
Tyranno Destroy's any Resistance !!!
Tyranno Der Thread Necromancer

User avatar
Anakey
- Mod -
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 17:57 pm

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by Anakey » Tue Jul 16, 2013 17:17 pm

with the ai dr, they have a tendency to send out the mobile hq to stones on the other side of the map, despite having stone near the base, if this happens and the enemy keep destroying the hq, then instead of building up the ai will be attempting to make another hq to replace the one lost, if this cycle becomes stuck then its easy to see why it looks like the AI is doing nothing, even if they are not on passive.

It is especially bad on a map with your allies as dr on level 9 on aggressive ai setting and with 100k starting points still manage to die through not having a hq :|

Note that in mirage, picking random, will pick either offensive, balanced or aggressive but not passive, however passive is still available as an option.
Image

Thanks to Henry for making the animation

User avatar
wafflefries777
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 23:50 pm
Location: USA

Re: Annoying AI bug.

Post by wafflefries777 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 19:05 pm

The AI were set on balanced,aggressive, or defensive. I was playing 3 different maps on CEP. 1 was official (Ajuba city) and 2 fan made maps. I played 4v4 so my ally and enemy were both affected. The tribes seemed to not matter since NM,DC, and DR were affected.To fix it I had to abandon game and set it up again. It doesnt sound bad but i like playing with fog on so its quite annoying to spend time building an army to relize the enemy is is a dud.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “English”