How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post Reply
User avatar
GeneralKong
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 13:11 pm
Location: Ireland

How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by GeneralKong »

I was wondering how to make the units I spawn with the cheats use a skin, like for instance the Dustrider warrior showing up wiht the Raptor Handler skin(but still using the warriors weapons)
User avatar
MrMorgana
- Admin -
Posts: 947
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:42 pm
Location: Koprulu Sector

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by MrMorgana »

you shall know that (currently) we can't change skins/textures of models

the only way to make game units having different outlook (for example dustrider warrior -> raptorhandler) is replacing the model itself
BUT the models for human units don't have completely the same animations (most of them are the same, but attack animations are different) this means a warrior won't have the animations of an archer, etc.

the simpliest way to change units models is to change the techtree, but this is a general change, which affects all units of the same type

just making units spawned by cheats have different model needs server side scripting (and ofc the cheats must be modified/extended as well)
The Dustriders are nomads, who endlessly roam the parallel world with their tamed dinosaurs, which they use both as riding animals and as powerfull combat units, designed to strike fear into the hearts of their enemies.
Feel the power as you destroy enemy after enemy using the T-Rex Titan, the king of dinosaurs!
User avatar
GeneralKong
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 13:11 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by GeneralKong »

Ahhhh I see

I was talking with AyCe on Moddb and he said that it might work if I have this line:
D:Undead:begin Undead;var ^CFightingObj pxO = cast(CSrvWrap.GetObjMgr()^.CreateObj("hu_warrior",&#xPL;AYERID%,&#xMO;USE%));if(pxO!=null)then pxO^.SetLevelClean(1); endif; end Undead;

and add:

pxO^.SetGfx("hu_undead_warrior");

however I have tested it and the unit itself does not show up
I have yet to get a reply from him about what to do next

Do you think Kharg might be able to help? by the looks of it he made the cheat function
User avatar
MrMorgana
- Admin -
Posts: 947
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:42 pm
Location: Koprulu Sector

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by MrMorgana »

Kharg can probably help you

and the method AyCe told you might works as well, but i assume after a save/load the unit would get back the original model
The Dustriders are nomads, who endlessly roam the parallel world with their tamed dinosaurs, which they use both as riding animals and as powerfull combat units, designed to strike fear into the hearts of their enemies.
Feel the power as you destroy enemy after enemy using the T-Rex Titan, the king of dinosaurs!
User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14223
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by Scrat »

You might try creating an entirely new unit with animation of handler but everything else like warrior. Name it aje_warhand and write a cheatcode spawning aje_warhand to spawn this unit. There won't even be a need for giving him a place to be trained...
User avatar
GeneralKong
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 13:11 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by GeneralKong »

How do I make a new unit?
User avatar
GeneralKong
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 13:11 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by GeneralKong »

Anything?, sorry if I seem to be a bit impatient but I really like this game and so I really like to know how to make my own units so I can start playing more along the lines of my own style
User avatar
Triceratops
- Mod -
Posts: 4910
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 16:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by Triceratops »

It's fine but the people in the know are only (mostly) online during the weekend. Install www.xfire.com and join our Paraworld community, it makes it a lot easier to help with modding etc ;)
User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14223
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by Scrat »

GeneralKong wrote:How do I make a new unit?
you mean like a new animation? not at all

u an just take existing units and modify them

or create new units based on existing ones


check out the paraworld techtree (Sunflowers\Paraworld\Data\Base\Scripts\Server\settings\techtree open with notepad) and see how other units are coded. it will help you understanding and code ur own unit.
User avatar
GeneralKong
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 13:11 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by GeneralKong »

This is what I have done So Far, I have tried to add a seperate unit called "ninigi_pirate" that is using the pirate warriors skin for the normal DC Samurai

I have to admit it is alot more complicated then I thought

I have also tried to make a new Seas unit called "seas_renegade" which is using the Gunner animations and weapons but is using the Rocketman skin

but when I try to spawn them they dont shop up, so i am assuming that I havent done enough
User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14223
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by Scrat »

Hmm...

Send me ur techtree, i will take a look
User avatar
GeneralKong
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 13:11 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by GeneralKong »

Everytime I try to attach a File it says 500 Internal Server Error, or that i can add the Techtree because of its file extension, im going to try and add a text file instead

EDIT: here it is
Attachments
Techtree.txt
(5 MiB) Downloaded 489 times
User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14223
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by Scrat »

Pirate warrior skin is very complicated.. but for the renegade, try this techtree
Attachments
Techtree.txt
(5 MiB) Downloaded 504 times
User avatar
GeneralKong
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 13:11 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by GeneralKong »

It seems to be working, but the unit is showing up without any weapons and only has 1 hitpoint
User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14223
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by Scrat »

You gotta lvl him up, it works from lvl 2 onwards
Or modify the cheat to create it instantly on lvl 2
User avatar
GeneralKong
- SEAS -
- SEAS -
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 13:11 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by GeneralKong »

I leveled him up all the the way to 5 and it stayed at 1/1 and still gunless
User avatar
Scrat
- Mod -
Posts: 14223
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 14:44 pm
Location: Bamberg / Budapest
Contact:

Re: How to make unit show up with other skins?

Post by Scrat »

I will take a look next week, pretty buzy now.....
Post Reply

Return to “Cheats”